PBBI Analyst Day / User Conference

I attended the Pitney Bowes Business Insight Analyst Day Tuesday June 2 and then stayed for the PBBI User Conference held directly after from June 3 through Noon on June 5. Both events were held at the Omni Hotel at ChampionsGate in Orlando, Florida.

Having attended quite a few analyst events during my 4+ years as the lead analyst of Financial Insights global insurance advisory service, I had significant comparison material to other technology firm analyst events. My take-aways were that:

  • PBBI management and employees were quite solid. They knew what they were talking about.
  • Refreshingly, PBBI people were not full of themselves. They understood what they had to accomplish to succeed but were not drunk on their own koolaid as some (very) large technology firms are.
  • They understood their roots – from all the companies that have come together to make PBBI what it is today
  • They are easy to talk to and I assume, do business with which is also different from other technology firms

For me to see how PBBI is leveraging their parent company’s (Pitney Bowes) competencies with those of the various companies that have come together (i.e., Group 1 software; MapInfo) was one of those ‘aha’ moments.

I am hoping, though, that if I attend next year, I won’t be collecting business cards from the PBBI team that still has their previous firm’s e-mail addresses in the domain name.

Published in: on June 14, 2009 at 7:50 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://insurancetechnologyanalyst.wordpress.com/2009/06/14/pbbi-analyst-day-user-conference/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment